HomeSportsIndia became champion of T20 World Cup for the second time

India became champion of T20 World Cup for the second time

India became champion of T20 World Cup for the second time

#News Bureau 29 June, 2024

India became the champion of the T20 Cricket World Cup. It registered a thrilling 7-run win against South Africa on Saturday. With this win, India has captured this title for the second time. Earlier in 2007, India was the champion of this World Cup.

India won the toss and decided to bat first in the final of the T20 World Cup 2024 played at Kensington Oval in Bridgetown, Barbados. India scored 176 runs thanks to Virat Kohli’s 72 runs and Axar Patel’s 47 runs. Chasing the target of 177 runs, the South African team also had a bad start like India. It also lost two wickets for 12 runs and three wickets for 70 runs. However, the match was interesting from the beginning. With Henrik Klaasen’s rapid batting, at one time it seemed that South Africa had complete control over the match, but then the Indian bowlers made a comeback and the South African team kept going on the backfoot with every ball. But South Africa were bundled out for 169 for 8 in 20 overs.

Earlier, India has set a score of 176 runs against South Africa thanks to the brilliant innings of Virat Kohli and Akshar Patel. Now South Africa will have to score 177 runs to win.

India had a bad start and lost three wickets for 34 runs. India’s first wicket fell in the form of captain Rohit Sharma for 23 runs in 1.4 overs. After this, Rishabh Pant went out in the second over without opening the account. Suryakumar was also caught out cheaply after scoring 4 runs.

Keshav Maharaj tried to create obstacles for the team by dismissing Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant in the second over of India’s innings. Kagiso Rabada then increased the difficulties of the 2007 champions by dismissing Suryakumar Yadav in the fifth over. But after this, Kohli along with Axar Patel made a solid partnership of 72 runs. Axar had to pay the price for his carelessness and he was run out.

Quinton de Kock’s brilliant throw dismissed Axar Patel and forced India to lose their fourth wicket. Keshav Maharaj took two wickets of Rohit Sharma and Rishabh Pant, while Kagiso Rabada took the wicket of Suryakumar Yadav.

Share With:
Rate This Article

No Comments

Leave A Comment